Modifying a Mailing After It's Been Approved
You can make most modifications to your job anytime prior to paying for it. Once a mailing has been approved, however, it cannot be modified in any way. If you are concerned that an approved job may not be accurate, you should try to place it on hold immediately by using the Pause Job option.
You can do this by locating the mailing in your job list and click EDIT to the far right of it, then select Pause Job.
If the Pause Job option isn't available that means we've already started to work on it, at which point you have two options. You can either let the job continue to process as-is, or you can cancel the job completely by selecting the Stop and Shred Job option. Keep in mind that you will incur cancellation fees if you choose this option, as we've already used time and resources to produce the mailing.
If the Pause Job option is still available, you can use it to assess whether or not the mailing is correct. If you determine that it isn't correct, you will need to delete the mailing and re-upload it. You can delete the mailing by clicking EDIT and then selecting the Delete Job option.
Selecting this option will not incur any cancellation fees, as we haven't started to work on it at this point. 100% of the funds that were used to pay for the cancelled mailing will be automatically placed back into your LetterStream account and then automatically applied to your next mailing(s) within the shopping cart.
Why can't a job be modified after it's been approved?
Our website communicates this process upfront because there are a number of reasons why a job can't be modified after it's gone through the approval process and has been paid for.
First, the job proofs show exactly what will be printed and mailed out, and then act as historical mailing data for you that can be referenced to see what was mailed, and when. If a job were to be modified after it's been paid for, the proofs would no longer be correct.
Next, almost all of the mail we produce includes small barcodes and numbers. In short, this information helps us to be super fast and accurate. If we were to modify a document after it's been approved, that document wouldn't contain these vital pieces of information.
Additionally, our system creates an internal "work order" for our team that includes all of the job specifications and details regarding your job. Modifying anything after a job has been approved increases the risk that something could be produced incorrectly.
Another big reason is that because our system is automated, once your job(s) has been paid for and is in our production queue it will likely be combined with many other jobs that have the same specifications/requirements.
Simply put, there are far too many variables involved when it comes to modifying a job after it's been approved, which is why our system locks the job and doesn't allow any modifications to be made.
Therefore it's best to make all necessary modifications and adjustments to your jobs prior to approval and payment.